Current Biennium (April 1, 2018 - March 31, 2020)
Podiatric Physicians who are unable to attend the FPMA Science and Management Symposium (SAM) held in the Orlando, Florida area every year in January can earn some of their required CECH with home study courses.
When considering home study courses, please keep in mind the guidelines for CECH as established by the Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine:
◊ 1 hour Laws and Rules - Can only be used one time per biennium and cannot be counted again as part of scientific hours.
◊ 1 hour AIDS - One hour required only in the initial biennium and first renewal biennium, not required thereafter per biennium.
◊ 2 hours Medical Errors - Can only be used one time per biennium.
◊ 1 hour Risk Management - Can use any RM hours acquired over the one required hour as Practice Management, if you do not already have a maximum three hours of Practice Management allowed per biennium.
Note: Practice Management is NOT required - only three hours of Practice Management may be counted per biennium.
Self-Study Hours Information
Important Information: Statute relating to Initial Licensure and Relicensure in the State of Florida - This statute applies to both Licensed DPMs and Podiatric X-Ray Assistants and those individuals who wish to become licensed in the State of Florida:
Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes
Important Notice for Initial Licensure Applicants and Renewals:
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed.
Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to s. 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
NOTE: This section does not apply to candidates or applicants for initial licensure or certification who were enrolled in an educational or training program on or before July 1, 2009, which was recognized by a board or, if there is no board, recognized by the department, and who applied for licensure after July 1, 2012.